#1 2019-04-30 09:50:40

SuffolkPunch
Member
Registered: 2019-04-27
Posts: 6

Sync over dial-in connection?

Hello,

Would GeneralSync work across a dial-in connection to my home router?

I have in mind setting-up my router to accept dial-in connections from - say - my smartphone? Not sure if the smartphone would be given a temporary address in my home network's number range. But if it were, then my hunch is GeneralSync might work across the VPN link.

Has anyone tried this?

Martin

#2 2019-04-30 14:07:10

ds
Founder / Developer
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2016-06-15
Posts: 222

Re: Sync over dial-in connection?

SuffolkPunch wrote:

Would GeneralSync work across a dial-in connection to my home router?

It might depend on the capabilities of the software used for that, but a VPN should work if properly configured. Both the PC application and the Android app will attempt to use any networking interface they can find.

It is, however, important that both the device at home and the smartphone are located in the same network (if you use GeneralSync's default settings). Unless GeneralSync is running on the router itself, you thus might need to adjust the router's settings to use the same network for both clients from the VPN and locally attached devices – or configure your home devices to also join the VPN.

If it does not work, I highly recommend to check the settings your VPN software and/or your firewall(s) have – it is possible that UDP broadcasts or some other technology required for VPN is blocked by default. Also check that the IPv4 addresses of both devices start with the same 3 numbers if the subnet mask is 255.255.255.0.

#3 2019-05-01 08:24:51

SuffolkPunch
Member
Registered: 2019-04-27
Posts: 6

Re: Sync over dial-in connection?

Thanks.  Will try it out and let you know what happens.

Board footer